NUJ Zone F Appeal To Edo State Governor to Resolve Their Deferences

Story by Ovie smith

The Zonal meeting, which was presided over by the Vice President of the zone, Opaka Dokubo, assisted by the Zonal Secretary, John Angese had in attendance, Chairmen and Secretaries of the six states in the South-South geo-political zone of the country and the BoT member representing the zone, Mrs Abimbola Oyetunde.

After exhaustive deliberations, the following resolutions were taken:

 The South-South zonal leadership of NUJ used the opportunity of the meeting to appeal to Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki and the Deputy Governor, Philip Shuaibu to resolve their current differences in the overriding interest of the good people of the state.

The zone also appealed to elder statesmen and women and other well-meaning stakeholders in Edo State to weigh in on the issue with a view to finding an amicable resolution to the disturbing development.

Members of the National Assembly from the South-South geo-political zone were charged to engage the Federal Ministry of Works and other relevant Federal Government agencies to find lasting solutions to the deplorable state of federal roads in the region, particularly the East-West Road, Calabar-Itu Road, Benin-Lokoja Road, Benin-Akure Road, Benin-Sapele-Warri Road, and others too numerous to mention.

The Union lauded governors in the zone for recognizing the potentials of journalists by appointing some of its members into positions of trust in their respective governments, and sued for more appointments of journalists to handle media-related matters, especially, for political office holders.

The Union frowned at the increasing spate of ritual-related killings in the zone, and charged relevant security agencies to rise up to the occasion and stem the ugly trend. It also admonished youths to jettison the ‘get rich quick’ syndrome by engaging in meaningful ventures, as there are no short cuts to wealth.

The Zonal Leadership commended the Federal Government for upgrading the Maritime Academy of Nigeria, Oron in Akwa Ibom State to the status of a University.

The Union commended the Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki, for his promise to provide a Coaster bus to the Edo State Council of the NUJ, while hoping that the promise would be fulfilled in record time. The Zonal Leadership passed a vote of implicit confidence on the Zonal Vice President, Opaka Dokubo, the Zonal Secretary, John Angese and other National Officers in the zone for their sterling leadership qualities.

The Union congratulated The Honorary Romanian Ambassador to Edo & Delta States, His Excellency, Chief, Sir Dr Gabriel Igbinedion, The Esama of Benin, on his 89th birth anniversary and expressed profound appreciation to him for the lavished hosting of members who paid him a courtesy visit in the course of their meeting in Benin.

The Zonal Leadership also congratulated the NUJ President, Chief Christopher Isiguzo, and the National Trustee of Zone F, Mrs. Abimbola Oyetunde on their well- deserved Honourary Doctoral Fellowship Award, from the London Centre for Training and Development, recently in London.

Equally, the Zonal leadership commended the Edo State Council of NUJ for a successful hosting of the Zone F meeting.

The Union seriously frowned and strongly condemned the unwarranted violent attacks on journalists carrying out their lawful duties at Opu Nembe in Nembe Local Government Area of Bayelsa State, and urged the law enforcement agencies in the State to recover the working tools of the journalists still in the hands of the hoodlums.

The Union called on politicians and other stakeholders in Bayelsa State to be guided by the rule of law and the need for peace and social harmony as they go about their activities before, during and after the forthcoming governorship election in the state.

Communique Drafting Committee

1. Comrade Michael Ikeogwu

2. Comrade Samuel Numonengi

3. Comrade Andy Egbon

*Comrade Opaka Dokubo
Vice President

* Comrade John Angese
Zonal Secretary

Hi, I’m reporter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *